Santa Pod Raceway
Drag Racing

FIA "The Main Event" 2010

Friday 28th to Monday 31st May

2010 Report - Records Tumble Once Again at Main Event!

Santa Pod Raceway, the home of European Drag racing proved yet again to be the venue of choice for discerning race fans and petrol heads, as records were smashed at The Main Event, including 2 World Records!

Anticipation was high prior to the event, thanks to a simply eclectic list of talent and machinery that promised great things from the outset. With last year’s event seeing records broken and then re-broken before the ink had chance to dry on the timing slips, the capacity crowd were looking to the ‘Who’s Who’ entry list to provide them with similar thrills this year.

Despite the weather being less than helpful on the Saturday, they didn’t go home disappointed, with John Bradshaw kicking things off by setting a new world record for the quickest Skyline! His hugely impressive slip 7.4513/187.41 with a textbook reaction time of just 0.0022 seconds will be very hard for anyone to beat. Jap fans will be delighted to know that John and his charging Nissan will be wowing the crowds, along with hundreds of other Eastern gems at the Japshow, at Santa Pod on the 4th of July.

Two wheel aficionados got their ticket money’s worth thanks to a storming World record run from Frenchman Eric Teboul’s Rocket Bike. Setting the World’s best ET for a bike – at a mind numbing 5.2321/249.02, it was as scary to watch as it was impressive!

Finally, to top it all off, Urs Erbacher kept Top Fuel honours high, with a new European speed record of 314.87 mph!

Commenting on the weekend, Santa Pod General Manager, David Lloyd-Jones said ‘We’re delighted that it’s been yet another weekend of superb racing. It’s good news for the sport and even better news for the fans when history gets re-written like this. The Main Event is getting quite a reputation as a record-breaking round, so here’s hoping that the drivers and riders can keep pushing the envelope throughout the season and into next year. It’s testament to our superb Marshalls and track crew that our strip surface allows this kind of action with such regularity.’

Main Event Winners:

Urs Erbacher   Erbacher and Poutiainen  

FIA Top Fuel Dragster: Winner Urs Erbacher, Runner-up Risto Poutiainen

Lindberg   Lindberg and Robinson  

FIA Pro Modified: Winner Johan Lindberg, Runner-up Andy Robinson

Callin   Malmgren  

FIA Pro Stock: Winner Micke Callin, Runner-up Michael Malmgren

Dennis   Habermanns  

FIA Top Methanol Dragster: Winner Dennis Habermann, Runner-up Timo Habermann

Nagel   Nagel and Larsen  

FIA Top Methanol Funny Car: Winner Jürgen Nagel, Runner-up Dan Larsen

Smith   Smith  

Fuel Funny Car: Winner Gordon Smith, Runner-up John Spuffard

Johnson   Johnson and Doyle  

Super Pro ET: Winner Steve Johnson, Runner-up Bob Doyle

Baynton   Baynton and Pittau  

Pro ET: Winner Paul Baynton, Runner-up Carla Pittau

Curbishley   Curbishley and Letchford  

Super Comp: Winner Martin Curbishley, Runner-up Paul Letchford

Conrad Stanley   Stanley and Day  

Super Gas: Winner Conrad Stanley, Runner-up Dave Day

Jennifer Gustafsson   Jennifer and Halvor  

Super Street: Winner Jennifer Gustafsson, Runner-up Halvor Overby

Gabrielle McDonald   Gabrielle and Josh  

Junior Dragster: Winner Gabrielle McDonald, Runner-up Josh Saunders

Bradshaw   Bradshaw  

Comp Eliminator: Winner John Bradshaw, bye

Paul Wratten   spacer  

Fuel Altered: Winner Paul Wratten, Runner-up Tony Betts

Steve Woollatt   Kai Selkämäa  

UEM Top Fuel Bike: Winner Steve Woollatt, Runner-up Kai Selkämäa

Lorenz Stäuble   Lorenz Stäuble and Job Heezen  

UEM Supertwin: Winner Lorenz Stäuble, Runner-up Job Heezen

Ulf Ögge   Ulf Ögge and Gert Jan Laseur  

UEM Pro Stock Bike: Winner Ulf Ögge, Runner-up Gert Jan Laseur

Christian Jäger   Christian Jäger and Steve French  

UEM Funny Bike: Winner Christian Jäger, Runner-up Steve French

Steve Venables   Steve and Rick  

Super Street Bike: Winner Steve Venables, Runner-up Rick Stubbins

Full Race Report: For detailed race coverage please visit our friends at

Daily Galleries   Daily Galleries: See what happened at the 2010 Main Event on the Daily Gallery pages.

Entry List   Photo Entry List
View photos of the racers that competed at The 2010 Main Event on the Photo Entry List page.

For descriptions of the various drag racing classes have a look at the Classes page, in the Drag Racing section of this site. For details of MSA British Drag Racing Championship and the drivers competing, visit

Saturday Rain Off: Despite the best efforts of track crew, no racing was possible on Saturday. Please keep hold of your tickets as a full Rain Off value has been placed on Saturday tickets which can be used towards tickets for any future Santa Pod run event up to and including The Main Event 2011. Please view the Rain Off Values page for full details of credit values.


FIA/FIM Main Event

The Main Event 2016: Preview / Photo Entry List / Running Order
The Main Event 2015: Report / Facebook Photo Galley / Photo Entry List
The Main Event 2014: Winners / Facebook Photo Galley / Photo Entry List
The Main Event 2013: Winners / Photo Gallery / Photo Entry List
The Main Event 2012: Report / Photo Gallery / Photo Entry List / Photo Competition
The Main Event 2011: Report & Gallery / Photo Entry List / Photo Competition
The Main Event 2010: Report / Photo Entry List / Daily Gallery Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
The Main Event 2009: Report / Photo Entry List / Daily Gallery Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
The Main Event 2008: Report / Photo Entry List / Daily Gallery Thu | Fri | Sat
The Main Event 2007: Report / Photo Entry List / Daily Gallery Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
The Main Event 2006: Report / Gallery
The Main Event 2005: Report / Gallery
The Main Event 2004: Report

Follow Santa Pod Raceway

Facebook   YouTube   Twitter
Newsletter   Instagram   Livestream


Share Santa Pod Raceway

spacer spacer spacer


Lane Sponsors

Lane Sponsors

Family Days Out
Public Track Days
Buy Tickets




Buy tickets online at or Tel: 01234 782828

Please drive carefully when visiting Santa Pod Raceway!
Home | Site Page Map | Back to Top
Santa Pod Raceway, Airfield Road, NN29 7XA
©2016 Santa Pod Raceway. All Rights Reserved.
Photos on this site are copyright of the individual photographers.